Power of positive emotion

I’m finding keeping my emotions in check to be increasingly difficult. I know this procedure has less than a 40% chance of being successful. I’ve read other blogs talking about the heartache of going through the process without success. But I find myself dangerously excited nonetheless. It is hard not too.

I originally started this blog as an outlet for myself to get some things off my chest. I planned to wait until we received the BFP (big fat positive) or BFN (big fat negative) before telling anyone close to me. The stress of going through this was enough, I just wanted to avoid a list of phone calls I had to make to give updates. I then came to realize this is a good way to distribute information from a central platform. It avoids the need to repeat myself over several phone conversations. So I let a few people close to me know about my blog. They seem to find it informative, interesting and agree that this is a good way to easily keep others in the loop as our progress continues. Today we decided to include a few more family and friends. I can make a post the moment I have any information and avoid the dilemma of whom I should call first. It is proving to be one of my better decisions.

Anyway, my shot technique appears to be working. All the medication stayed in with minimal pain.

The wife feels bad about me having to drive to her work the rest of this week to give her the shot, but I really don’t mind. It was important to keep her mornings free for the ultrasound visits, therefore she requested the evening shift all this week. I’m just glad that after 3 weeks they finally fixed the air conditioning at her work.

© copyright 2011-2012

About ivfmale

Just a guy dealing with infertility.

Posted on August 22, 2012, in IVF progression and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Its amazing what love will get you through. Glad you’re sharing this because we care about the two of you.

  2. I just finished reading through your story. Your post about the day you got your diagnosis made me cry – I understand that feeling all too well. We are lucky to have loving spouses. My husband is going to have to begin giving me IM shots in the bum next week if all goes well and I’m dreading it. Would you mind terribly if I asked him to email you for pointers? And finally, I’m cheering you and your wife on and very much hope your first transfer takes and leaves you with a freezer full of future siblings!

    • I would be glad to give him some tips. One of the reasons I’m blogging about this is to help other men going through the IVF process. Even if they are not male factor as I am. Feel free to email me anytime. My wife and I will be cheering you and your husband on your journey as well.

      Let me say you are a lovely writer. I was shocked to have a tear on my cheek and a stitch in my side at the same time on a few of your postings.

What's on your mind?

